Your Guide To Kazu Kibuishi’s Amulet Graphic Novel Series
All Ages Reading Recommendations

Your Guide To Kazu Kibuishi’s Amulet Graphic Novel Series

By 0 Comments

This page contains affiliate links for eCommerce websites. How to Love Comics may recieve a small commission on purchases you make. Find out more in our affiliate disclaimer.

This page contains affiliate links for eCommerce websites. How to Love Comics may recieve a small commission on purchases you make. Find out more in our affiliate disclaimer.

Emily and her brother discover an amulet in her great-grandfather’s home. They knew he was eccentric, having disappeared years ago in mysterious circumstances and leaving his body of odd scientific work in a grand house. But they did know that the amulet they found was sentient, leading them to a fantasy world where Emily would become the world’s saviour against the tyrannical Elf King.

Thus begins the fantastical adventures of Kazu Kibiushi’s graphic novel series Amulet. Published by Graphix (an imprint of Scholastic), the series has garnered a passionate audience of young readers, teachers, and librarians and has won multiple awards. At one point, there was even meant to be a feature film with Will Smith and John Lassiter attached to it.

With the recent conclusion of Amulet, there has never been a better time to dive into the magical world of of the series. This guide will give you everything you need to know to start the series and continue your reading journey with subsequent graphic novels.

Where to start reading Amulet

The best place to start reading Amulet is at the beginning with Amulet Book One: The Stonekeeper.

Why? This is because the first graphic novel introduces foundational concepts and characters that flow throughout the series. Each additional book in the series builds upon each other by continuing story elements, developing characters, and expanding the world. By reading from the start, you see all those elements flesh out.

How many Amulet graphic novels are there?

There are nine Amulet graphic novels. The recently published Amulet Book Nine: Waverider is the final book in the series.

You can find out more about each book in the series and how to read them all in the Amulet reading order section below.

What ages are Amulet suitable for?

Amulet is a graphic novel targeted at middle-grade readers. This means that it is suitable for children aged between 8 and 12, as indicated by the publisher Graphix’s website. However, it’s worth noting that some of the graphic novels in the series are listed for ages 9-12 years old.

Common Sense Media recommends ages 8+.

After reading some of the graphic novels, I tend to agree with the age ranges mentioned above. Younger children may find the monsters and danger that the cast of characters are put in too scary.

It’s also worth noting that the first graphi novel features the death of a parent. While the scene is not particularly long or graphic, some children may find it distressing. As always, parental digression is advised.

Where to find Amulet graphic novels

The Amulet graphic novel series can be found in all good comic book shops, online retailers, eBay, book stores, and Amazon/Kindle. They can also be found in many libraries.

Find more about how to find comics and graphic novels in this extensive guide.

Amulet reading order

Are you trying to figure out the reading order for Amulet? The best way to read them is in release order. Find out more about the correct way to read Amulet below.

Amulet Book One: The Stonekeeper
Published in 2008

Amulet Book Two: The Stonekeeper’s Curse
Published in 2009

Amulet Book Three: The Cloud Searchers
Published in 2010

Amulet Book Four: The Last Council
Published in 2011

Amulet Book Five: Prince of the Elves
Published in 2012

Amulet Book Six: Escape from Lucien
Published in 2014

Amulet Book Seven: Firelight
Published in 2016

Amulet Book Eight: Supernova
Published in 2018

Amulet Book Eight: Waverider
Published in 2024

Buy Amulet graphic novels on…

What can readers learn from Amulet?

While Amulet can be read as escapism, there are plenty of things that readers can learn from the series. Some of these include:

  • How to deal with making difficult decisions
  • What it means to be a hero
  • How to face your fears
  • Visual literacy and storytelling devices

The Comic Legal Defense Fund has created an Educator’s Guide that covers the first six volumes of Amulet. It features plenty of talking points that parents/guardians/teachers can discuss with children to expand their comprehension and critical thinking.

The Rema Chronicles: Realm of the Blue Mist cover by Amy Kim Kibuishi.
The Rema Chronicles: Realm of the Blue Mist cover by Amy Kim Kibuishi.

What to read after Amulet

Trying to figure out what to read after completing Amulet? Here are a few suggestions that may appeal to readers.

Daisy Kutter: The Last Train
Written and drawn by Kazu Kibuishi. Published by Bolt City Productions.

Daisy Kutter: The Last Train is a four-part series that Kazu Kibuishi created in the mid-2000s. It’s a fun young adult steampunk-western that’s full of action and adventure. You can read the series on Bold City Productions website.

Written and drawn by various. Published by Abrams.

Between 2004 and 2011, Kazu Kibuishi edited an anthology series called “Flight“. This was aimed at an older audience and contained a variety of genres and styles, along with some experimentation. When the series concluded, Kibuishi used what he learned from Flight to create an anthology aimed at younger readers called “Explorer“.

The three volumes of Explorer feature a range of creators telling fantasy short stories that will appeal to younger readers.

The Rema Chronicles
Written and drawn by Amy Kim Kibuishi. Published by Graphix.

The Rema Chronicles is a new graphic novel series by Kazu Kibuishi’s wife Amy Kim Kibuishi. This lushly illustrated graphic novel will scratch that fantasy adventure itch after completing Amulet.

Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind
Written and drawn by Hayao Miyazaki. Published by Viz Media.

Did you know that Hayoa Miyazaki created manga? Before it was a Studio Ghibli film, Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind was a series written and drawn by Miyazaki between 1982 and 1994. The post-apocalyptic was a major influence on Kazu Kibuishi and inspired him to create Amulet.

Due to the themes and subject matter, I would recommend this one for teen and adult readers.

Have your say

Have you found this guide helpful? Share your thoughts in the comments below or via Facebook, X (formally Twitter), or Mastodon. You can also subscribe to the How To Love Comics newsletter too.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Don’t miss out on our newsletter

Get reading recommendations, lists, reading orders, tips and more in your inbox.

Sign-up to the newsletter

Don’t miss out on our email newsletter full of comics recommendations, lists, reading orders, tips and more.

Follow us on Facebook or Twitter too.