6 Loki Stories You Should Read
Marvel Comics Reading Recommendations

6 Loki Stories You Should Read

By Comments

Over the years Loki has been many things. The God Mischief. The God of Evil. The God of Stories. A presidential candidate. Tom Hiddleston. And even reincarnated as a child. With these identities and phases has been many fantastic stories that have spanned from the early days of comics starring Thor right through to starring roles in this own series.

With his rise in popularity from the Marvel movies, you might be interested in reading some comics starring Loki. Luckily you’ve come to the right place as this list highlights 6 great stories, which (mostly) star Loki as the focal character. Along with these highly recommended comics are details on where you can read these stories so you can find them with ease.

Happy reading!

Quicklinks: Where Can I Buy Comics? | 6 Best Places To Buy Comics Online | Loki on How to Love Comics

Journey Into Mystery #85 cover by Jack Kirby.
Journey Into Mystery #85 cover by Jack Kirby.

Trapped By Loki, The God Of Mischief

Written by Stan Lee. Art by Jack Kirby.

In his first appearance, we’re introduced to the mischievous god trapped in a tree – somewhat inspired by Norse mythology, albeit a less gruesome version – as he tricks himself to freedom. In his freedom he decides to take his revenge out on Thor on Earth and the result is a series of escalating trickery which stops Thor from using strength to win the day.

Loki quickly positions himself as one of Thor’s greatest foes. Instead of brute strength, like previous Thor villains, Loki instead uses trickery to get the upper hand – even if that means putting others in danger.

Trapped by Loki, The God of Mischief is told in Journey Into Mystery #85. It’s also collected in Thor Epic Collection: The God of Thunder as well as available digitally.

Thor: The Trials of Loki cover by Sebastian Fiumara.
Thor: The Trials of Loki cover by Sebastian Fiumara.

The Trials of Loki

Written by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa. Art by Sebastian Fiumara.

This 4-part miniseries delves into how Loki became a villain and fell out of favour with the Gods. Loki begins as well-like, but perhaps the butt of many jokes, and evolves into the twisted being that we know him to be. You’ll see what motivates him to go down this path and what he is willing to do in order to meet his goals.

As well as acting as Loki’s dark origins, The Trials of Loki gives a crash coarse in Norse mythology. Aguirre-Sacasa sprinkles various legends throughout, making a narrative that feels richer and builds the world around Loki and other members of the cast.

The Trials of Loki is told in Loki (2010 series) #1-4. It’s collected in Thor: The Trials of Loki as well as available digitally.

Thor & Loki: Blood Brothers cover by Esad Ribic.
Thor & Loki: Blood Brothers cover by Esad Ribic.

Blood Brothers

Written by Robert Rodi. Art by Esad Ribic.

This four-part miniseries is the story of what happens when Loki finally bests his rivals and gets what he wants, the throne of Asgard. While he has what he struggles with all the responsibilities that come with it.

This miniseries explores Loki’s motivations and how they’ve twisted through his experiences into a ball bitterness. As a ruler they create conflict, especially when it comes to his bother, Thor. This is visually represented in Esad Ribic’s art, who portrays Loki as leather-faced and ugly.

Throughout Ribic’s painted style, which is reminiscent of the great late Frank Frazetta, is a perfect match for the fantasy setting. He also has a strong understanding of light and shadow, allowing for atmospheric scenes, which add to the drama of the story.

Blood Brothers is told through Loki (2004) #1-4. It’s collected in Thor & Loki: Blood Brothers as well as available digitally.

Journey Into Mystery Volume 1: Fear Itself cover by Stephanie Hans.
Journey Into Mystery Volume 1: Fear Itself cover by Stephanie Hans.

Journey Into Mystery: Fear Itself

Written by Kieron Gillen. Art by Doug Braithwaite and Whilce Portacio.

This particular selection on this list is unique because it features a peculiar, but well-loved, period in Loki’s history – the one where he was reincarnated as a kid. In this opening arc, set on the backdrop of the Fear Itself event, Kid Loki uses all of his trickery and cleverness to manipulate the forces around him for a noble cause.

While Loki is a child he possess many of the qualities of the old Loki, without the evilness. The result is a child-like trickery, wrapped around a young boy who’s too smart for his own good. While my description might turn some off, I hope it doesn’t as there plenty of clever storytelling full of twists and surprises.

Although it ties into the Fear Itself event, this story can be read independent of it. The events parallel to it, but through clever exposition it never requires readers to read the main event to understand their story. In fact, the events of Journey Into Mystery actually enrich those of the Fear Itself event, by giving it more depth by going behind the scenes.

Journey Into Mystery: Fear Itself runs through Journey Into Mystery #622-#626, #628-#629. It’s also collected in Journey Into Mystery by Kieron Gillen: The Complete Collection Volume 1 and is available digitally.

Loki: Agent of Asgard Vol. 1: Trust Me by Jenny Frison.
Loki: Agent of Asgard Vol. 1: Trust Me by Jenny Frison.

Trust Me

Written by Al Ewing. Art by Lee Garbett.

Loki has been a villain. He’s been a child. And now he’s just wants to do some good. In order to do that he has become an Asgardian equivalent to a secret agent, with every mission that he completes allowing for a bad deed to be removed from history. That’s not to say that he is scheming and trickery are gone for good, he’s just using them in a different outlet.

Ewing and Garbett have put together a story which is a fusion of genres – combining elements of spy action, mythological fantasy and the Marvel Universe – into a coherent narrative. The result is often fun, with weird and wonderful ideas, and one that has plenty of character development for Loki and those around him.

Trust Me is the first arc of the 2014 series Loki: Agent of Asgard. Read a preview of Loki: Agent of Asgard #1.

Trust Me is told in Loki: Agent of Asgard #1-5. It is collected in Loki: Agent of Asgard Volume 1: Trust Me and is available digitally.

Vote Loki #1 cover by Tradd Moore.
Vote Loki #1 cover by Tradd Moore.

Vote Loki

Written by Christopher Hastings. Art by Langdon Foss.

Loki has tried taking over the Earth through villainous means numerous times, but this time around he has gone legitimate by running for President. Using all his mischievous tricks, Loki play the political system and the media to his advantage.

Being released on the back end of 2016, Vote Loki has taken inspiration from the 2016 US election. Through Loki it explores sensationalism of candidates, with Loki telling people what people want to hear instead of having an actual policy. As a result of this, it also explore the media circus that often surrounds elections and how people vote for candidates who may not be qualified.

Vote Loki was a four issue miniseries. It’s collected in trade paperback and digitally.

View More Should Read Lists.

Have Your Say!

What are your favourite Loki stories. Let me know in the comments below or via Facebook or Twitter.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


  • Ew. The comic covers are atrocious, Loki looks like the lovechild of IT and Hannibal Lector. Anyone of sane mind’s gonna stick with the movies instead. I know that I will. If I’m rooting for the crazy guy, I rather do so for an attractive one. :p

Sign-up to the newsletter

Don’t miss out on our email newsletter full of comics recommendations, lists, reading orders, tips and more.

Follow us on Facebook or Twitter too.